The Science of 7 Chakras


Chakras are referred to various energy centers in our body that correspond to specific nerve bundles and internal organs. Generally we hear that a human body has 7 Chakras but the truth is, a human body has an infinite number of Chakras. Only The Seven main chakras are referred by most of us that run along our spine.

Each of the 7 Chakras has a corresponding number, name, color, specific area of the spine and health focus. The conscious awareness and balancing of these energy centers is believed to lead to well-being and good health. Chakras act as a soccer to the body. They protect our body and soul from our negative thoughts. The Chakras are also connected to different glands and organs in a human body.

The seven main Chakras in the human body are :

    1. Root Chakra (Mooladhar Chakra)
    2. Sacral Chakra (Swadhishthan Chakra)
    3. Solar plexus Chakra (Manipura Chakra)
    4. Heart Chakra (Anahata Chakra)
    5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha Chakra)
    6. Third eye Chakra (Ajna Chakra)
    7. Crown Chakra (Sehastrara Chakra)

Root Chakra

Location- The base of the spin, in the tailbone area.

Color- Red

Element- Earth

Meaning – Physical identity, grounding, stability

Mantra- Lam

Positive Affirmations – I love my body, I am safe, I am financially strong.

Root chakra consists of 4 petalled lotus flower.  When Root chakra is imbalanced by any person then that person starts feeling unstable, lacking ambition, insecure and frustrated. 

Yoga Poses to Balance Root Chakra- Vrikshasana ( Tree pose), Mountain pose (Tadasana).


Sacral Chakra

Location- Just below the belly button, just above the pubic bone.

Color- Orange

Element- Water

Meaning – Sexuality, Pleasure, Creativity

Mantra- Vam 

Positive Affirmations – I have inspiration and creativity, I will experience joy and satisfaction, I will attract people who will support and love me, I will be able to express myself sexually in a fun and creative way. Sacral chakra looks like a 6 petalled lotus flower. When the Sacral Chakra is not properly working then the person might feel emotionally irritated, obsessed with Sexual thoughts, and becomes manipulative.

Yoga Poses to Balance Sacral Chakra- Crow pose(Kagasana) | Triangle pose(Trikonasana)

Solar Plexus Chakra

Location- The upper abdomen, in the stomach area.

Color- Yellow

Meaning – Self-esteem, confidence

Mantra- Ram 

Element – Fire

Positive Affirmations – I believe in myself, I am confident, I am successful. Solar Plexus Chakra seems like a ten-petalled lotus flower. It’s the chakra of our personal power. It is related to our self-esteem and self confidence. If it is blocked, a person will suffer from ulcers, heartburn, eating disorders and indigestion.

Yoga poses to balance Solar plexus Chakra:  Paschimottanasana | Bhujangasana| Dhanurasana

Heart Chakra

Location – The center of the chest, just above the heart.

Color- Green

Meaning- Love, Compassion 

Mantra- Yam

Element – Air

Positive Affirmations – I am loved, My heart is open to love, I am forever grateful, I always forgive myself and others.

Heart Chakra seems like 12 petalled lotus flower. If the heart chakra doesn’t work properly the person will face issues like asthma, heart problems and weight issues, lack of trust, jealousy, fear etc.

Yoga poses to Balance Heart Chakra –  Ardha Setu Bandhasana | Matsyasana

Throat Chakra

Location- The throat

Color – Blue

Meaning- Communication

Mantra- Ham

Element – Space

Positive Affirmations – I am an active listener, I am confident when I speak my mind, I set clear boundaries. Throat Chakra consists of 16 petalled lotus flower. This Chakra is connected to our ability to communicate verbally. Problems surrounding the throat area is caused because of imbalance of Throat Chakra such as teeth, gums and mouth. It is associated with faith, healthy expression, inspiration and great communication skills. If the throat Chakra is balanced of a person then he/she will speak and listen with compassion and feel confident.

Yoga Poses to Balance Throat Chakra: Sarvangasana

Third Eye Chakra

Location- Between the eyes, on the forehead.

Color- Indigo

Meaning – Intuition, Imagination

Mantra- Om

Element – None

Third eye Chakra seems like a 2 petalled lotus flower. Blocked third eye Chakra issues are headaches, eyesight problems and hearing problems. If the third eye Chakra of a person is balanced then people will follow their intuition and be able to see the big picture.

Yoga Poses to Balance Third eye Chakra : Headstand

Crown Chakra

Location – The very top of head

Color- Violet or white

Meaning- Awareness and intelligence

Mantra- Aum

Element – None

Positive Affirmations – I feel connected to my higher self, I am complete and divine, I am an extension of my universe. 

Crown Chakra is like a ring of a thousand Petalled lotus flower. This chakra is linked to all the other chakra, that’s why it affects all those organs and also our brain and nervous system. Person whose Crown Chakra is blocked may face the problem of being stubborn, narrow minded. If this chakra is Balanced then the person seems to bring bliss and enlightenment. 

Yoga Poses to Balance Crown Chakra: Headstand

All the seven chakras rotate at a specific frequency and speed. Let’s understand this with an example – what will happen if a 40 watt bulb gets the electricity supply of 500 watt or 10 watt? It will obviously fuse or get damaged. So balancing everything in life is very important and balancing Chakras can Balance your life. Balancing Chakras means to bring them back at their regular speed.

Chakras and Surya namaskar

Surya namaskar has a good effect on Chakras that are located in the various parts of our body.  Let’s understand the Surya namaskar poses on the Chakras-

  • Mooladhar Chakra – Namaskar pose, Uttanasana, Adhomukhshvanasana
  • Swadhisthana Chakra – Ardha Bhujangasana, Urdhvahastasan & Bhujangasana
  • Manipura Chakra- Uttanasana, Adhomukhshvanasan & Ashtangastithi
  • Anahat Chakra- Urdhvahastasan, Ardhbhujangasan, Bhujangasan, Ashtanga Tithi & Adhomukhshvanasan, 


  • Vishuddha Chakra – Ashtangstithi, Urdhvahastasan, Ardhabhujanagasan & Bhujangasana
  • Adnya Chakra – Uttanasan, Adhomukhshvanasan & Ashtangastithi, Namaskarstithi, Urdhvahastasan, Ardhbhujangasan & Bhujangasana
  • Sahasrara Chakra – Once we have gained control over the 6 chakras we can get control over Sahastrat chakra.

Chakras are used to connect the body and mind. Many people believe in the power of Chakras and use them to improve their health and well being. They are believed to help an individual with physical, mental and emotional health. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *